

# Resources Board Agenda

# Friday, 27 March 2015 11.00 am

Smith Square 3&4 Ground Floor Local Government House Smith Square London SW1P 3HZ

www.local.gov.uk

### Guidance notes for visitors Local Government House, Smith Square, London SW1P 3HZ

#### Welcome!

Please read these notes for your own safety and that of all visitors, staff and tenants.

#### Security

All visitors (who do not already have an LGA ID badge), are requested to report to the Reception desk where they will be asked to sign in and will be handed a visitor's badge to be worn at all times whilst in the building.

#### **Fire instructions**

In the event of the fire alarm sounding, vacate the building immediately following the green Fire Exit signs. Go straight to the assembly point in Tufton Street via Dean Trench Street (off Smith Square).

DO NOT USE THE LIFTS. DO NOT STOP TO COLLECT PERSONAL BELONGINGS. DO NOT RE-ENTER BUILDING UNTIL AUTHORISED TO DO SO.

#### **Open Council**

"Open Council", on the 1st floor of LG House, provides informal meeting and business facilities with refreshments, for local authority members/ officers who are in London.



#### Toilets

Toilets for people with disabilities are situated on the Basement, Ground, 2nd, 4th, 6th and 7th floors. Female toilets are situated on the basement, ground, 1st, 3rd, 5th and 7th floors. Male toilets are available on the basement, ground, 2nd, 4th, 6th and 8th floors.

#### Accessibility

Every effort has been made to make the building as accessible as possible for people with disabilities. Induction loop systems have been installed in all the larger meeting rooms and at the main reception. There is a parking space for blue badge holders outside the Smith Square entrance and two more blue badge holders' spaces in Dean Stanley Street to the side of the building. There is also a wheelchair lift at the main entrance. For further information please contact the Facilities Management Helpdesk on 020 7664 3015.

#### **Further help**

Please speak either to staff at the main reception on the ground floor, if you require any further help or information. You can find the LGA website at www.local.gov.uk

#### Please don't forget to sign out at reception and return your badge when you depart.



Resources Board 27 March 2015

There will be a meeting of the Resources Board at **11.00 am on Friday, 27 March 2015** Smith Square 3&4, Ground Floor, Local Government House, Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HZ.

A sandwich lunch will be available at 1.00pm from those that have requested it.

#### Attendance Sheet:

Please ensure that you sign the attendance register, which will be available in the meeting room. It is the only record of your presence at the meeting.

#### **Political Group meetings:**

The group meetings will take place from 10.00 -11.00am. Please contact your political group as outlined below for further details.

#### Apologies:

Please notify your political group office (see contact telephone numbers below) if you are unable to attend this meeting.

Labour:	Aicha Less:	020 7664 3263	email: aicha.less@local.gov.uk
Conservative:	Luke Taylor:	020 7664 3264	email: luke.taylor@local.gov.uk
Liberal Democrat:	Group Office:	020 7664 3235	email: libdem@local.gov.uk
Independent:	Group Office:	020 7664 3224	email: Vanessa.Chagas@local.gov.uk

#### Location:

A map showing the location of Local Government House is printed on the back cover.

#### LGA Contact:

Frances Marshall 0207 664 3220 / frances.marshall@local.gov.uk

#### **Guest WiFi in Local Government House**

This is available in Local Government House for visitors. It can be accessed by enabling "Wireless Network Connection" on your computer and connecting to LGH-guest, the password is Welcome2010LG.

#### **Carers' Allowance**

As part of the LGA Members' Allowances Scheme a Carer's Allowance of up to £6.50 per hour is available to cover the cost of dependants (i.e. children, elderly people or people with disabilities) incurred as a result of attending this meeting.



# **Resources Board – Membership 2014/2015**

Councillor			
Councillor	Authority		
Labour (7)			
Labour (7)	Haringay Council		
Clir Claire Kober (Chair)	Haringey Council		
Clir Sue Murphy	Manchester City Council		
Cllr Aaron Shotton	Flintshire County Council		
Cllr Sharon Taylor OBE	Stevenage Borough Council		
Cllr Chris Shaw	North East Lincolnshire Council		
Cllr Sian Timoney	Luton Borough Council		
Cllr Tom Beattie	Corby Borough Council		
Substitutes			
Cllr Norman Keats	Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council		
Cllr Michael Mordey	Sunderland City Council		
Conservative (7)			
Cllr Roger Phillips (Vice-Chair)	Herefordshire Council		
Cllr James Jamieson	Central Bedfordshire Council		
Cllr John Osman	Somerset County Council		
Cllr Nigel Ashton	North Somerset Council		
Cllr Melvyn Caplan	Westminster City Council		
Cllr Adrian Hardman	Worcestershire County Council		
Cllr John Fuller	South Norfolk District Council		
Substitutes			
Cllr Rodney Rose	Oxfordshire County Council		
Cllr Johanna Churchill	Lincolnshire County Council		
Cllr Rory Love	Shepway District Council		
Cllr Robert Saunders	East Hampshire District Council		
Liberal Democrat ( 2)			
Clir Claire Hudson (Deputy	Mendip District Council		
Chair)			
Cllr Barbara Janke	Bristol City Council		
Substitutes			
Cllr Simon Shaw	Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council		
Independent ( 2)			
Clir Clarence Barrett (Deputy	Havering London Borough Council		
Chair)			
Cllr Linda van den Hende	Havering London Borough Council		
Substitutes			
Substitutes	Mrovhom County Dorough Council		
Clir Robert Dutton OBE	Wrexham County Borough Council		
Cllr Adrian Naylor	Bradford Metropolitan District Council		

Non-Voting 3	
Cllr Harvey Siggs (Non-voting Member)	National Association of Regional Employers



Association	
Cllr Denny Vitty (Non-voting	Northern Ireland Local Government
Member)	Association (NILGA)
Cllr David Phillips (Non-voting	Welsh Local Government Assoc. (WLGA)
Member)	

## **Resources Board – Attendance 2014/2015**

Councillors	17/10/14	07/01/15	
Labour Group			
Claire Kober	Yes	Yes	
Sue Murphy	Yes	No	
Aaron Shotton	Yes	Yes	
Sharon Taylor	No	Yes	
Chris Shaw	Yes	No	
Sian Timoney	No	Yes	
Tom Beattie	Yes	Yes	
Concernative Crown			
Conservative Group			
Roger Phillips James Jamieson	Yes Yes	Yes Yes	
John Osman	Yes	Yes	
	Yes	Yes	
Nigel Ashton Melvyn Caplan	Yes	Yes	
Adrian Hardman	Yes	Yes	
John Fuller	Yes	Yes	
	res	res	
Lib Dem Group			
Claire Hudson	Yes	No	
Barbara Janke	Yes	Yes	
Independent			
Clarence Barrett	Yes	Yes	
Linda van den Hende	Yes	Yes	
	100	100	
Non-voting			
Harvey Siggs	Yes	Yes	
Denny Vitty	No	No	
David Phillips	N/a	Yes	
Substitutes			
Norman Keats	Yes	Yes	
Michael Mordey	Yes		
Jo Churchill	Yes		



# Agenda

#### **Resources Board**

Friday 27 March 2015

11.00 am

Smith Square 3&4, Ground Floor, Local Government House, Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HZ

	Item	Page	Time
1.	Declarations of Interest		
2.	Minutes of the previous meeting held on 6 January 2015	1 - 8	
	WORKFORCE	Page	
3.	Workforce Update	9 - 16	
	WELFARE REFORM	Page	
4.	Welfare Reform Update	17 - 22	
	LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE	Page	
5.	Local Government Finance and EU Funding Update	23 - 30	
6.	Local Government Finance Work Plan Priorities	31 - 38	
7.	Budget Submission 2015	39 - 80	
8.	Future Funding Campaign (Confidential)	81 - 92	
9.	Local Government Finance: LGA Lines (Confidential)	93 - 113	

**Date of Next Meeting:** Friday, 17 July 2015, 11.00 am, Smith Square 3&4, Ground Floor, Local Government House, Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HZ